US: Florida… after 10 years… I’m back!

Bitter – sweet…this is where my Around the World adventure ends, for now!

I chose Florida to be my last stop just so I could start feeling at home… or maybe ’cause I felt I had some unfinished things to deal with before moving  forward.

Ten years ago I was an exchange student in Merrit Island High School. Back then I was a 17 years old, scared the hell of me to leave my small town, friends and family behind. It’s definitely one of the hardest year… my first step to self-knowledge and confidence. Also, the year I discovered there’s an entire new world out there to discover. Ten years ago my passion for traveling started!

Family!

Family!

My first days were in Melbourne, right next to Orlando. I mainly enjoyed the company of my former counselor’s family. We spent some time at the beach, by the pool… and shopping (for the first time in a year)!

I’ve also go t to spend an evening with my former host family in Merritt Island. Amazing how everything looked exactly the same… but I have changed, a lot!

Family!

Family!

Time for tears and wishes to see them again sooner than the next 10 years…. I left to Tampa. My dear love Rebecca was there waiting to party hard, drink beer, eat tacos and long funny but philosophical conversations. So good to see her and how we both grew up…

Us!

Us..!!🙂

Downtown Tampa

Downtown Tampa

 

Ybor street! Party in Tampa

Ybor street! Party in Tampa

Lightning!

Lightning!

Canoeing with gators...  This is Florida!

Canoeing with gators… This is Florida!

DSC02996

We drove down to Miami for a few days… stayed with the best hosts ever and partied so hard that I passed out.🙂

Miami Beach

Miami Beach

Miami people

Miami people

Little Havana

Little Havana

I guess I don´t need to tell that most of my weight lost during this past year was recovered in this last month. My tan was still there, my messy and sunburned hair as well, my bracelet collection all breaking apart was there too… but the tacos and beers made their job on my weight.

Taco bus, the best Taco iin Tampa!

Taco bus, the best Taco iin Tampa!

Time to say goodbye… I’ll go home now… my backpack is empty with souvenir but full of old clothes that have been everyting I had for this last year… I say goodbye and walk on the check-in area… this time, it´s me and my backpack … and we’re going home!

Leave a Reply

