New Zealand: Geothermal activity in Rotorua

It was hard to leave Taupo and specially the great people I was leaving behind… but I had a Naked bus to Rotorua to catch. I had around a week left in New Zealand and I was looking forward to see all those colorful lakes and geothermal activity in Rotorua.

Downtown

Downtown

Rotorua is also a good place to go deeper into Māori culture. There are some traditional villages around the town where you can have a typical dinner around the fire and watch some rituals and dance. I actually didn’t do that once I found out its price, but I still got to walk around and meet some locals on the walking distance villages nearby.

Maori Village

Māori Village

Church

Church

Besides the fact that the city smells like rotten eggs most of the time, I found it very charming. The smell is due to the geothermal activity and the presence of so many minerals in that region. It´s very popular to enjoy a cold evening at a hot mineral pool or have a mud skin treatment at one of their nice spas.

Sulphur Bay

Sulphur Bay

Just by walking around the town you’ll see some bubbling mud pools, steam coming out from the streets, lakes that look almost white because of the high amount of sulphur in the water.

Mud pool

Mud pool

I’ve decided that Rotorua was the best place to get my new tattoo I’ve been planning to get during this trip. I had it designed and done by a local Māori guy, who draw figures and symbols while you tell him about your life and desires. Tattoo (Ta moko – how it’s called) is something that has been part of Māori culture over the centuries.

Ta moko

Ta moko

"Ta moko is about who we are, and whom we come from. It is about where we are going, and how we choose to get there. And it is about for always, forever." by Te Awekotuku.

“Ta moko is about who we are, and whom we come from. It is about where we are going, and how we choose to get there. And it is about for always, forever.” Te Awekotuku

From there, I took a day trip to “Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland”, where I could walk around its 18 square kilometers of geothermal area, including hot springs, the Lady Knox GeyserChampagne PoolArtist’s Palette and boiling mud pools.

Waiotapu

Waiotapu

DSC02437

DSC02443

Champagne lake

Champagne pool

DSC02454

DSC02462

After 3 days, it was time to move on and reach Auckland, the destination I though it would be my last in New Zealand!

 

4 thoughts on “New Zealand: Geothermal activity in Rotorua

  1. Pingback: Geothermal Activity in Rotorua and Waikiki Islands | I kiwi NZ.

  2. Gorgeous Photos! Just curious – how expensive was it to have that traditional Maori dinner? I’m planning a trip to Australia and NZ soon and browsing some blogs for ideas🙂

Leave a Reply

